This 3-day Course immerses learners in the overall concepts, Processes, Policies and methods associated with the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) phase of the Service Lifecycle. The Course covers the Management and control of the activities and techniques within the CSI stage, but not the detail of each of the supporting Processes. This Course is designed using an engaging scenario-based approach to Learning the core disciplines of the ITIL Best Practice and positions the student to successfully complete the associated exam.

Duration                       Learning Credits        

1 day-8 hours of           8 PDU’s 



Public Classroom Pricing:     

Early Bird Price: AUD 799.00

Regular Price: AUD 649.00

Instructor-Led Virtual Live Pricing:

Early Bird Price: AUD 699.00

Regular Price: AUD 549.00

Private Group/ In-House Learning:

Have a group of 5 or more people?

 Register yourself with a special pricing and

request the training exclusively

Course Outline

Course Introduction

● Course Learning Objectives

● Unique Nature of the Course

● Course Qualification Scheme

● Course Agenda and Exam Details

● Course Agenda ITIL Intermediate Classroom Course

● ITIL Intermediate Expert Program Course

● ITIL Intermediate Classroom Blended Course

● ITIL Intermediate Virtual Classroom Blended Course

Unit 1: Continual Service Improvement

● Purpose and Objectives

● Scope

● Value to the Business

● Approach to CSI

● Business Questions for CSI

● Context of CSI in the ITIL Service Lifecycle

● Inputs and Outputs of CSI

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 1

Unit 2: Continual Service Improvement Principles

● Relationship Between CSI and Organizational Change

● Ownership

● The CSI Register

● Influence of SLM on CSI

● Role of Knowledge Management in Improvement Initiatives

● Importance of the Deming Cycle

● Effectively Using Various Aspects of Service Measurement

● Using CSI for Good Governance

● Frameworks, Models, Standards and Quality Systems

● Group/Individual Exercise

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 2

Unit 3: The Continual Service Improvement Process

● Purpose and Objectives

● Scope

● Value to the Business

● Policies, Principles, and Basic Concepts

● Process Activities, Methods, and Techniques

● Triggers, Inputs, Outputs, and Interfaces

● How Other Processes Play a Key Role in the Seven Step Improvement Process

● Critical Success Factors and Key Performance Indicators

● Challenges and Risks

● Group/Individual Exercise

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 3

Unit 4: CSI Methods and Techniques

● What to Assess and When to Use Assessments

● Using Gap Analyses to Identify Areas of Improvement

● Benchmarking

● Service Measurement

● Metrics

● Return on Investment (ROI)

● Service Reporting

● Using Availability Management Techniques

● Using Capacity Management Techniques and Iterative Activities

● Considering ITSCM Requirements and Risk Management

● Support from Problem Management

● Support from Knowledge Management

● Group/Individual Exercise

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 4

Unit 5: Organizing for CSI

● Generic Service Owner

● Generic Process owner

● Process Manager

● Process Practitioner

● CSI Manager

● Seven Step Improvement Roles

● Comparing the CSI Manager Role with Other Roles

● Using RACI to Define Roles and Responsibilities

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 5

Unit 6: Technology Considerations

● Introduction

● ITSM Suites

● Additional Tools Used in CSI

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 6

Unit 7: Implementing CSI

● Considerations and Where to Start

● Role of Governance in CSI

● Effect of Organizational Change on CSI

● Communication Strategy and Plan

● Group/Individual Exercise

● Sample test Question Summary of Unit 7

Unit 8: Challenges, Critical Success Factors, and Risks

● Challenges

● Critical Success Factors

● Risks

● Sample Test Question Summary of Unit 8

Unit 9: Exam Preparation Guide

● Mock Exam 1

● Mock Exam 2

Who Can Attend?

● Individuals who have their ITIL Foundation Certificate who want to purse the intermediate and advanced level ITIL certifications.

● Individuals who require a deeper understanding of the ITIL CSI stage of the ITIL Service Lifecycle and how activities in it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service Management within an organization

● IT professionals working within or about to enter a CSI environment and requiring an understanding of the concepts, Processes, functions and activities involved.

● Individuals seeking the ITIL Expert certification in IT Service Management for which this qualification is one of the prerequisite modules.

● A typical role includes (but is not restricted to): CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, service test managers and ITSM trainers

Learning Goals

● Understanding Service Management as a Practice and CSI Principles, purpose and objective

● Understanding how all CSI Processes interact with other Service Lifecycle Processes

● The sub-Processes, activities, methods and functions used in each of the CSI Processes

● The roles and responsibilities within CSI and the activities and functions to achieve operational excellence

● How to measure CSI performance

● Understanding technology and implementation Requirements in support of CSI

● The challenges, critical success factors and Risks related with CSI

Request Private Group Training